Minutes from AOCA First General Interest Meeting

On November 1, 2013, in Organization News, by Daniel Pasternack

American Osteopathic College of Anesthesiologists (AOCA)

American Osteopathic College of Anesthesiologists First General Assembly

Tuesday, September 10, 2013, 12:00pm, Rockefeller Auditorium

Advisor: Dr. Ursula Landman, D.O.

Board Members:

Present: Mohammed Rahman (President), Kathleen Thomas (Vice President), Jenny Berezanskaya (Secretary), Arjun Tara (Treasurer), Heather Stampfl (Journal Representative)

Absent: N/A

The President began the meeting with a welcome message and introduction of the E-board and advisor to the general assembly. The President discussed dates of future meetings/workshops. He further advised students that payment of $15 for membership would provide them with a sweatshirt later in the year, as well as access to workshops and shadowing opportunities.

The E-board conducted the election for a first year representative. Isabella Bergagnini (email: ibergagn@nyit.edu) was elected by majority vote.

Dr. Landman then introduced herself and provided details regarding upcoming conferences and research grant opportunities:

  • AOCA annual conference: 9/22-25 in Washington, DC at Omni Shoreham Hotel
    • Winter Conference: 1/17-1/19/14 in New Orleans at Hotel Monteleone
    • Midyear Seminar: 3/14-3/16/14 at Intercontinental Hotel in Chicago
    • Annual conference (2014): 9/28-10/1/14 at Westin Kierland, in Scottsdale, Arizona
    • link to site: http://www.aocaonline.org/activek/content.asp?catid=38
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) annual meeting: 10/12-16 in San Francisco
  • New York State Society of Anesthesiologists (NYSSA) PGA meeting: 12/13-17 at Marriott Marquis Hotel in NYC
  • Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER): Research Grant Opportunities

Dr. Landman further discussed shadowing opportunities with her (contact her at ursula.landman@stonybrook.org) and described some of her experiences as a student and anesthesiology resident.

Finally, raffle winners were selected: Mohammed Movahid (Class of 2017) won Netter’s Flashcards and Gary Volkel (Class of 2016) won BRS Gross Anatomy.

Membership dues were collected for new members. Attendance: 47, New Paid Members: 33

The meeting adjourned at 12:57 pm.

Tagged with:

Comments are closed.

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can
take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...